The National Milk Producers Federation elected Randy Mooney as its new Chairman during its 2008 Annual meeting held recently in Nashville, Tenn.

Mooney had been serving as assistant secretary of the NMPF Board of Directors prior to the election. He, his wife Jan and a partner operate a 250-cow dairy in Rogersville, Mo., where he has farmed since 1979. Mooney also has a beef cattle operation. Mooney serves on the corporate board of Dairy Farmers of America as Vice Chairman of that cooperative.

“We will soon have a new President and a host of both old and new challenges in the dairy business,” Mooney said, adding that he “looks forward to working across the industry with producers from across the country to address those challenges and create new opportunities for America’s dairy producer community.”

Mooney replaces outgoing chairman Charles Beckendorf, who stepped down as NMPF Board Chairman at the meeting. He will remain on the Board until March 2009.

The rest of NMPF’s Board officers include: Clyde Rutherford of Dairylea Cooperative, first vice chairman; Cornell Kasbergen of Land O’Lakes, second vice chairman; Rod DeJong of Northwest Dairy Association, third vice chairman; Dave Fuhrmann of Foremost Farms USA, secretary; Ken Nobis of Michigan Milk Producers Association, treasurer; Paul Toft of Associated Milk Producers Inc., assistant secretary; and Mike McCloskey of Select Milk Producers Inc., assistant treasurer.

Fuhrmann and McCloskey are newly-elected to their respective officer positions.

Outgoing NMPF Board members include Ed Brooks of Foremost Farms USA, Mark Furth of Associated Milk Producers Inc., Don Peterson of Swiss Valley Farms, and the late Ray Veldhuis of Dairy Farmers of America.

Veldhuis was commemorated with an Honorary NMPF Director plaque during the meeting, as was Joseph Probst of Prairie Farms Dairy.

For more on the annual meeting, including speeches, visit

Recommended for you