Farm Talk

February 11, 2014

Champions picked at Kansas Angus Futurity Jr. Show


Parsons, Kansas — Kansas Junior Angus members led 114 entries at the 2014 Kansas Angus Futurity Junior Show in Hutchinson, Kan.

Jon Davis, Gallipolis, Ohio, evaluated the 73 owned females, 25 bred-and-owned females, six bred-and-owned bulls, and 10 steers.

May-Way Sara 312 was named grand champion owned female after first winning junior calf champion. Madison Ratliff, Westphalia, Kan., owns the March 2013 daughter of May-Way Rocket Man.

Cody Theis, Leavenworth led AVF Sara 3773 to supreme champion honors. The March 2013 daughter of S A V Angus Valley 1867 first won junior calf champion.

A complete list of winners follows:


•Summer Heifer Calf Champion: Alexandria Cozzitorto, Lawrence

•Reserve Summer Heifer Calf Champion: Eva Hinrichsen, Westmoreland

•Jr. Heifer Calf Champion: Madison Ratliff, Westphalia

•Reserve Jr. Heifer Calf Champion: Addison Gauthier, El Dorado

•Senior Heifer Calf Champion: Megan Green, Leavenworth

•Reserve Sr. Heifer Calf Champion: Luke Sankey, Andale, Kan.

•Junior Champion Heifer: Kelsey Theis, Leavenworth

•Reserve Jr. Champion Heifer: Jackson Wingert, Ottawa

•Sr. Champion Female: Addison Gauthier, El Dorado

•Grand Champion Owned Female: Madison Ratliff, Westphalia, Kan.

•Reserve Grand Champion Owned Female: Kelsey Theis, Leavenworth, Kan.

Bred & Owned Heifers

•Jr. Heifer Calf Champion: Cody Theis, Leavenworth

•Reserve Junior Heifer Calf Champion: Jayce Dickerson, Paradise

•Summer Heifer Calf Champion: Grady Dickerson, Paradise

•Reserve Summer Heifer Calf Champion: Alexandria Cozzitorto, Lawrence

•Senior Heifer Calf Champion: Tanner Hite, Valley Center

•Reserve Senior Heifer Calf Champion: Luke Sankey, Andale

•Junior Champion Heifer: Laura Carpenter, Wamego

•Grand Champion Bred-and-Owned Female: Cody Theis, Leavenworth

•Reserve: Tanner Hite, Valley Center

Bred & Owned Bulls

•Grand Champion: Grady Dickerson, Paradise

•Reserve: Cale Hinrichsen, Westmoreland


•Grand Champion:  Shelby Hall, Harper

•Reserve: Taylor Goering, McPherson

AngusX Steers

•Champion: Blane Steckline, Garden Plain, Kan.

•Reserve Champion:  Maycee Ratliff, Westphalia

Commercial Steers

•Champion: Trace Rusk, Wellington

•Reserve Champion: Bailey Osborn, Murdock

•Supreme Champion: Cody Theis, Leavenworth