Farm Talk

January 8, 2013

K-State to host 4-state beef conference Jan. 29


Parsons, Kansas — K-State Research and Extension will host the 4-State Beef Conference at two Kansas locations on Tuesday, January 29. The conference, set for 5 to 8:30 p.m., will be held in Wamego at the Wamego Senior Center, 502 Ash St., and in Seneca at the Community Building, 1500 Community Drive.

The conference is designed to give those with an interest in beef cattle in Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska and Missouri a regular update on cow-calf and stocker topics. Sessions will also be held in Iowa, Missouri and Nebraska. An evening meal is included in the cost of the $20 registration.

Three topics to be covered at each location are the same, although some speakers will be different. They include:

•Genetic Improvement of Beef Cattle Feed Efficiency—Bob Weaber, K-State cow-calf extension specialist (Wamego) and a representative of the U.S. Consortium for the Genetic Improvement of Feed Efficiency in Beef Cattle (Seneca).

•Engaging Consumers in a Beef Conversation—Daren Williams, executive director of communications, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association (both locations).

•Beef Industry Update and Outlook—Todd Kalous, market analyst, CattleFax (both locations).

•Saving that Precious Hay—Amy Bandel, veterinarian, Mill Creek Veterinary Services (Wamego) and Jody Holthaus, Meadowlark District livestock and natural resources extension agent (Seneca).

Attendees are asked to pre-register by Friday, January 25 to ensure an adequate number of meals and copies of conference proceedings. For more information or to register for the Wamego site, contact Karaline Mayer at 785-765-3821 or or Austin Sexten at 785-457-3319 or For more information or to register for the Seneca site, contact Jody Holthaus at 785-364-4125 or jholthau  

More information about the 4-State Beef Conference is available at http://ksu Additional information, including details regarding conference sites in other states, is available at The conference is coordinated by specialists at four land grant universities: Kansas State University, University of Missouri, University of Nebraska and Iowa State University. £